The Glenn T. Seaborg Congressional Science and Engineering Fellowship

By Dr. Ruth Weiner

Any ANS national member, who is a U.S. citizen, with an M.S. or equivalent experience in nuclear engineering, nuclear science, or a related field, can apply for the Glenn T. Seaborg Congressional Science and Engineering Fellowship. The Seaborg Fellow serves as a staff member in the Congressional office of his or her choice, providing scientific advice to the member of Congress and his or her staff. The 12 months of service starts on January 1 and ends on December 31.

The application for the Fellowship should include:

  • Your Name
  • Mailing Address
  • Email Address
  • Day and evening phone numbers
  • Maximum two-page academic and professional summary
  • Maximum two-page statement of why you are applying, what you hope to accomplish, and how the Fellowship will benefit you and your employer
  • One or two letters of reference

Deadline for submission of the application is 11:59pm CT on April 15, 2018. Applications should be emailed to  All items, including letters of recommendation, must be received before the deadline.

About the Seaborg Congressional Science Fellowship

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Congressional Science and Engineering Fellowship Program in 1974. The program was initially intended for mid-career college and university faculty to provide scientific expertise to Congressional staff that staff rarely had, since Congressional offices generally could not afford faculty salaries, and faculty could take a sabbatical year’s leave. The first six Fellows worked in offices focused on the physical and biological sciences.

I was the AAAS Congressional Fellow in 1984. I found the experience so rewarding and educational, as well as helpful to my academic career that, together with Brian Grimes, I proposed ANS fund such a fellowship. The Board accepted the proposal, and the first Glenn T. Seaborg Congressional Science and Engineering Fellowship in 2000 was given to Dr. Joseph Green.

Since its inception, the program has expanded considerably. There are many organizations that fund the AAAS Congressional Science and Engineering Fellowship Program, including professional organizations representing the physical sciences, the biological sciences, and some social sciences. Congressional Science Fellows have gone on to serve on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and its advisory committees, various federal boards, and congressional staff.

What the ANS Congressional Fellowship is not:

Applicants should note that the Seaborg Fellow is not a legislative representative to Congress on behalf of either ANS or his or her current or past employer (not a lobbyist). The Fellowship is also not intended as a job-search.

Interested national members apply today! 

Please keep in mind that in-person interviews are completed at the ANS Annual Meeting, and travel expenses are at the cost of the applicant. ANS does not cover any part of the travel for interviews. ANS contractually will cover the costs for the Annual and Winter meetings during the year of service.

Contact Linda Zec at for more information.

Dr. Ruth WeinerDr. Ruth Weiner is currently a senior consultant at AECOM and adjunct professor of nuclear engineering at the University of Michigan. Together with Brian Grimes, she initiated the ANS Seaborg Congressional Fellowship program. She is a Fellow of ANS.  Dr. Weiner is the author and co-author of several books and papers. She was awarded the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award by the Fuel Cycle and Waste Management Division of ANS.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>